Skip to product information
  • Dave Brubeck, New York City 1959
1 of 1

Dave Brubeck, New York City 1959


In the summer of 1959, the Dave Brubeck Quartet -- Brubeck (piano), Paul Desmond (alto saxophone), Eugene Wright (double bass) and Joe Morello (drums) -- laid down three sessions (June 25, July 1, August 18) in the 30th Street Studio with producer Teo Macero for an experiment in polyrhythmic cool jazz called Time Out. The album's defining track, Take Five, with its eternal sax hook and quintuple time signature has become one of the most enduring jazz standards of all-time. This Don Hunstein snapshot of the Brubeck Quartet captures the essential magic of that in those sessions.

Original Photograph Printed Directly from the Original Negative.
Hand-Signed/Estate Stamped by the Photographer or Estate.
Limited Edition Available in Select Sizes.
Accompanied by a Certificate of Authenticity.

Dave Brubeck, New York City 1959
  • Pop
  • Rock
  • Dave Brubeck
  • Don Hunstein